Unexplainable Love

21 Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. 22 If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” Matthew 21:21-22

(Realize…..you can have whatever you ask for in prayer…..but YOU and I have to act first. We have to ask and we have to believe.)

I usually do not blog about my family or really showcase them. However, I couldn’t go on today without sharing about my sister, Carmen.

You know, sometimes your life doesn’t unfold the way you planned. It is not because God isn’t at work. It is because He gives us free will. My sister had many hopes and dreams. As I saw her begin her life as an adult, I was crushed. How would this young family make it? I saw her strive to be a wife and mom every day. Yet, she was fighting for her dream. Her desires to attend radiology school. At times I caught myself thinking…what is she doing? She is so selfish? Doesn’t she realize she is a mom and a wife now? Is she crazy to drive back and forth over an hour there and back for school every day? All the while, she was juggling it all. I never heard her complain. She continued studying and accomplished finishing school. Throughout this entire time, God was healing old wounds and restoring joy and hope. I know she is an optimist. She ALWAYS looks at the glass half FULL. It has always been in her. I think through everything she has been through, she is more determined and optimistic. She chose to be. Choosing is what she has taught me throughout my journey in my life. Several life issues have struck her life….yet she chooses to see it in a different light. It has been a long road…..but my sister is an Overcomer!!!!!

For quite sometime, doctors had tried to quite her thought of another child. Yet, Carmen chose to believe God. It wasn’t easy. Now finding herself in a better setting with her marriage, job, stability, walk with God….she longed to have a baby. Time and time again….let down….no baby. Not pregnant. My nephew, Malachi, asked publicly every time at church for petition to have a baby sister, for awhile, it was twins. Then against all odds…7 years of waiting/praying……positive….pregnant. It has been the only time, I have seen my sister doubt. She couldn’t wrap her mind around it even though it was what she had longed for.

“Don’t get too excited….what if….we don’t know yet….don’t say anything….I am scared…..I don’t know…..” all things I heard her say. Never in a million years did I think I would have the chance to finally be there for her. You see, I am the oldest of four siblings. I am supposed to be that wise pillar of strength. It was backwards for us. She had always been there for me. I had to use the one thing she had taught me…..I had to Choose to BELIEVE God and be optimistic. I knew there were a lot of odds against her. She had been exposed to radiation every day. I knew what she had been fighting within her body. I knew the chances were slim. Yet, I never voiced my thoughts or fears….I chose to Believe God. I yelled out God’s promises every day. I prayed in the Spirit any time she came to mind and still do. I finally can be there for her for all the times she has been there for me. The love and bond of a sister…..unexplainable, so deep and so true.
The faithfulness of God—–UNSHAKABLE!

To my sister Carmen, with all my love….

Leave a comment